Home News NJC recommends 84 judges, others for appointment

NJC recommends 84 judges, others for appointment

7 min read
access bank

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended the appointment of nine heads of courts and 84 other judicial officers.

The recommended candidates are to be screened and approved by their respective state governor and House of Assembly.

If confirmed, they will serve at the federal and state high courts.

A statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday by NJC’s Director of Information, Mr Soji Oye stated that the candidates were presented for recommendations by its panel of interviews during its 100th meeting, presided over by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola.

Those recommended as Chief Judges included Justice Muhammad Tukur Mu’azu Aliyu  (Kaduna), Justice Majebi Josiah Joe (Kogi), Justice Odusola Aiyedun Olusegun (Ondo), Justice Halima Sa’addiya Mohammed (Gombe) and Justice Lilian Abai (Abia).

Others were Justice Abdulateef Kamaldeen (Grand Kadi, Kwara),  Justice Stanley Adekunle Lawal, (President, Customary Court of Appeal, FCT), Justice Monisola Oluwatoyin Abodunde (President, Customary Court of Appeal (Ekiti) and Justice Uhuo Patrick Uchenna (President, Customary Court of Appeal, Ebonyi State).

Four of the 84 judicial officers are for Ondo High Court. They are Akinbinu Sylvester Femi, Leonard Boyede Ologun, Bolatito Florence Ajibade and Akinwumi Bankole Jacob.

The Customary Court of Appeal in Ekiti State has three nominees – Lawrence Babatope Ojo, Adegboye Rotimi Adesoji and Ogundele Olufolakemi Olufunke.

Borno State has five for appointment as judges – Amina Mustapha, Ibrahim Mohammed Maina, Hafsatu Isah Bappah, Bukar Malgwi Umar and Mallam Buna Makinta; while Anambra State has two – Etomike Innocent Ndigwe and Tagbo Chinwuba Anieto.

The five nominated for the Sokoto High Court bench are Bashar Ibrahim, Fatima Ahmadu Suka, Abubakar Adamu,  Kabiru Muhammad and Amina Modi Yabo; while the Sharia Court of Appeal in the state has two nominees – Kadi and are Idris Adamu and Mustapha Abdullahi Ahmad.

Ogun State High Court has eight nominees – Oluwafunke  Omolara Odubanjo, Adelaja Adeola Ireti,  Basirat Bolanle Adebowale, Adebayo Bamidele Adedapo, Ayodele Adebayo Omoniyi, Sunday Olufemi Adeniyi, Awofeso Ireti-Olu Babatunde and Abimola Christopher Shokunbi.

The two nominees for Bayelsa State High Court are Charlie Ebiyon Duke and Ekadi Amadise Michael, while the six for Ebonyi State are Esther Awo Ota, BUkeni Ogoke Stella Ejituruchi, Ruth Obaji Okeh, Blessing Ibeabuchi Chukwu, Christopher Ofoke Mbam and Francis-Abba Solange Amaka.

The National Industrial Court of Nigeria has six nominees – Buhari Sani,  Damachi-Onugba Agede Joyce, Hassan Muhammed Yakubu, Sandra Audu Yelwa, Subilim Emmanuel Danjuma and Muhammad Adamu Hamza.

Cross Rivers High Court has two nominees – Okokon Edem Nyong and Amajama Jacob Eneji, while the four for Adamawa High Court are Christopher Dominic Mapeo, Ahmed Isa, Mohammed Ibrahim Tola and Benjamin Lawan Manji.

Adamawa State has one Kadi nominee for its Sharia Court of Appeal in the person of Isa Yusuf Khalid, while its Customary Court of Appeal has another one Judge nominee in person of Adabala Nicholas.

The breakdown showed that Rivers State High Court has five candidates – Asivosuo Maccarthy Oriye, Omonigho Nwibani, Comfort Ifikmotu-Awaji Adangor,  Prince Chika Mini and Beauty Ihuoma Emmanuel-Okere, while its Customary Court of Appeal has two judge nominees – Odiki Daniel- Kalio and Tetenwi Ngeli Elerabari.

Zamfara High Court has four – Abdullahi Muhammad Gusau, Umar Adulnasir, Saad Garba Gurbin-Bore and Muntaka Ahmad Ya’akubu.

Osun State High Court has four nominees – Lasisi Muhammmed Adebayo, Awe Micheal Oludare, Fatimah Adejoke Sodamade and Owolawi Joseph Olukunle.

Kaduna State High Court bench has seven candidates – Yakubu Bodamasi, Abdullahi Isiaka, Buhari Mohammed Balarabe Bashir Shitu Yusuf, Nana Fatima Mohammed John Aku Ambi and Joyce Asabe Akaa’ahs.

Apart from the recommended seven high court judges, the NJC also sought for appointment of five Kadis for Kaduna Sharia Court of Appeal and they are Aminu Ahmad Jumare, Nuhu Mahmud, Murtala Nasir,  Abdulrahman Ibrahim and Mahdi Muhammad Suraj.

Kaduna Customary Court of Appeal is to have three judges – Dorothy Sim Inwulale, Atung Dorcaas Tabitta and Yusuf Yakubu.

The breakdown also showed that the Plateau State Customary Court of Appeal has only one judge nominee in person of Jettei T. Pekun.

Source: The PUNCH

  • NBA chairman blames corruption in judiciary on staff

    The  Chairman of the Ilorin branch of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Mr Kamaldeen Gam…
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Dogara, Keyamo quarrel over Buhari’s support for Tinubu

The spokesperson for the All Progressives Congress Presidential Campaign Council, Barriste…