Home Politics Ikpeazu, Ugwanyi clinch PDP senatorial tickets

Ikpeazu, Ugwanyi clinch PDP senatorial tickets

3 min read

More sitting Governors have won the tickets of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to contest Senatorial seats in the next February’s election. Among them is Abia State Governor, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu, who will complete his two-term tenure in May.

Unchallenged in the party primary on Tuesday, Ikpeazu, 57, will represent the PDP in the Abia South senatorial district in the election in 2023.

Chairman of the election committee, Ndidi Okereke announced that the Governor got all the votes from the 198 delegates that participated in the election.

Post-victory, Ikpeazu said the people would benefit from his representation.

“I want to thank the delegates from the six local government areas and dedicate this victory to our statutory delegates. They have been excluded from today’s exercise not because of any wrong on their part but because of some laws that have not received assent from Mr President”, he said.

“I am particularly interested in women, youths and the voiceless. I pray that Almighty God will, through the instrumentality of the mandate you have given me, grant me the power, strength, opportunity and privilege to serve Abia South people to the best of my ability.”

In Enugu State, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwanyi picked the PDP ticket to contest the Enugu North senatorial district poll.

Ugwuanyi polled 299 votes to defeat three other contenders — Ikechukwu Eze, Celestine Okanya and Godsmark Ugwu.

For Enugu East Senatorial district, former Governor Enugu State Governor, Dr Chimaroke Nnamani,who is the sitting Senator for the district, won the PDP ticket.

Enugu West Senatorial district will have a new Senator for the first time since 2003. The sitting Senator, Ike Ekwermadu, who was Deputy Senate President for 12 years from 2007, opted to contest the governorship seat in the state instead.

Engr. Osita Ngwu won the Enugu West senatorial ticket of the PDP with 177 votes, beating a member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Ogbuefi Ozomgbachi; and former Minister of Aviation, Fidelia Njeze. Ozomgbachi got 55 delegate votes, while Njeze received three.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Contributor
Load More In Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Public morality: Nduka Obaigbena and his THISDAY/Arise News grandstanding

By Dele Alake and Bayo Onanuga It is laughably tragic that the Chairman and Editor-in-Chie…