Home Politics Election APC retains Gbajabiamila’s seat

APC retains Gbajabiamila’s seat

2 min read

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has retained the Surulere Federal Constituency I seat of Lagos State, which was vacated by Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila. The former Speaker of the House of Representatives represented the constituency for five straight terms from 2003, and won his sixth term last year, only to resign after being named by President Bola Tinubu as his Chief of Staff.

APC candidate in Saturday’s election, Kayode Laguda won bye-election conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), which announced that he polled 11,203 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Jerry Afemikhe of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The PDP candidate got 278 votes.

The candidate of the Labour Party, Adeola Adebanjo had 240 votes.

INEC said that there were 11,801 valid votes, out of which 138 were rejected.

According to the INEC Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Adebayo Oladipo, Laguda won in all the polling units in the constituency.

He said: “I hereby certify that Fuad Kayode Laguda of APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner and is returned elected”.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In Election

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

2 dead, 13 injured in Ijebu Ode-Benin expressway crash

Two people have died while 13 other passengers sustained injuries on Saturday in an accide…