Home News Nigeria chairs 2024 UN-Habitat board

Nigeria chairs 2024 UN-Habitat board

3 min read

First session of the 2024 executive board meeting of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme, UN-Habitat, has commenced in Nairobi under the chairmanship of the minister of housing and urban development, Ahmed Musa Dangiwa.

A press statement by the special assistant media and strategy to the minister, Mr Mark Chieshe, said the session is being held at the UN-Habitat Headquarters from 6 to 8 May 2024.

In his opening remarks at the meeting, Dangiwa tasked members of the executive board of UN-Habitat to redouble efforts towards repositioning the organisation as an impactful global tool for tackling human settlements’ challenges in a structured and sustainable manner.

“As members of the Executive Board, I must draw our collective attention to the fact that our nations, at this time, are among the privileged few tasked with the important responsibility for the regular supervision of the global human settlements agenda. We have a moral obligation to approach this duty with our best efforts, utmost sincerity, and the highest responsibility for the good of mankind.

“To this end, during my chairmanship, I intend to pursue global collaboration in partnership with the various regional and political groups, and I would count on your support as I look forward to active engagement to bring this organization to its rightful footing”, he said.

The minister, who also doubles as the chair of the 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) Bureau of the Shelter Afrique Development Bank (ShafDB), noted that he sees his unique positions as an opportunity to forge strategic alliances that are beneficial to actualising the mandate of UN-Habitat.

The UN-Habitat Executive Board is a legislative body of UN-Habitat. It comprises 36 member states elected by the UN-Habitat Assembly with 10 seats for Africa, one of which is occupied by Nigeria currently producing the chair, 8 seats for Asia and Pacific States, 4 seats for Eastern European States, 6 seats for Latin America and Caribbean States, and 8 Seats for Western European and other States.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Tinubu directs CDS to curb oil theft in N’Delta

The Group Executive Officer of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited, Mele Kyari…