Home Business NUPRC inaugurates 12-member committee on gas commercialisation

NUPRC inaugurates 12-member committee on gas commercialisation

5 min read
access bank

The Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission (NUPRC) at the weekend inaugurated a 12-member Flare Gas Commercialisation Programme Team with the responsibility to ultimately end gas flaring by 2025.

The team has the mandate to drive the process and coordinate the Federal Government’s Flare Gas Commercialisation Programme.

Gas flaring in the oil and gas industry has continued to be a menace which needs to be eradicated because of its adverse effect on the environment and the people. The wasteful disposal of natural gas is not only fraught with serious health/environmental consequences, but is also a major resource waste and value erosion to the country.

Against this backdrop, the Federal Government declared 2021 to 2030 as the “Decade of Gas”,  during which period Nigeria will have shift focus from oil-centred exploitation to gas driven industrial development.

Although the World Bank has set 2030 as the target year to end gas flaring, Nigeria has not only set a country deadline for 2025, President Muhammadu Buhari made a commitment towards the Paris Agreement during the COP26 Leaders’ Summit to achieve Net Zero carbon emissions by 2060.

In 2016, the Federal Government initiated the Nigerian Gas Flare Commercialisation Programme (NGFCP) to end flaring of natural gas by oil companies operating in the country. Although the initiative was well-received by stakeholders and industry watchers, unforeseen constraints truncated its execution.

At the inauguration of the Flare Gas Commercialisation Programme Team in Abuja at the weekend, NUPRC’s Chief Executive, Engr. Gbenga Komolafe stated that monetising gas resources is a positive step towards guaranteeing energy security, especially in the global energy transition period. He said that Nigeria must ensure that it harnesses all available gas resources for value creation.

Komolafe announced that NUPRC is recommencing the process of issuing flare sites to technically competent companies, following a competitive bid process.

This process has become crucial in view of the policy direction of the Federal Government to ensure all gas resources are developed for national development. NUPRC is currently carrying out a study in conjunction with external technical resources to identify suitable flare sites for the auction process.

According to the commission, this was why the committee was inaugurated to drive the process and coordinate implementation of the programme.

The steering committee members are K. O. Ofoegbu and O. I. Anyanechi; the programme team is made up of A. T. Adeyiga, J. O. Ogunsola, J.C. Anyanwu, A.O. Okwah, O. E. Oje, N.E. Odega, K. R. Abisoye, J. C. Echendu, C. I. Chukwukaelo and G. L. Umoru.

The committee is expected to carry out its mandate bearing in mind the over-arching significance of the programme to the socio-economic well-being of the nation.

Komolafe appreciated the support from the United States Trade and Development Agency, USAID and other stakeholders and reiterated the commission’s commitment towards ensuring that the programme is expeditiously executed.

The inauguration was witnessed by a delegation from USAID comprising Mr Oladiran Adesua, Jennifer Ifeanyi Okoro and Andrew Smith.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In Business

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Agoro replaces Muri-Okunola as Lagos Head of Service

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu has approved the appointment of Shuah…