Home News Ondo Assembly confirms Aiyedatiwa’s commissioner-nominees

Ondo Assembly confirms Aiyedatiwa’s commissioner-nominees

3 min read

The Ondo State House of Assembly has confirmed the commissioner-nominees of Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa at the plenary session on Tuesday.

Last week, Aiyedatiwa had sent the list of six commissioner-nominees to the Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The nominees include Mrs. Omowumi Isaac, Mr. Olukayode Ajulo, Engr. Razaq Obe, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Barrister Akinwumi Sowore and Mr. Oseni Oyeniyi. Only Isaac was not cleared by the Assembly.

Their confirmation was sequel to the submission and consideration of a report by the House Selection Committee which had conducted screening for the nominees at the Assembly complex. The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Olamide Oladiji is the chairman of the committee.

At the plenary on Tuesday, the Clerk of the House, Mr. Jaiyeola Benjamin read the letter sent to the House by the governor, for the consideration of the nominees.

While submitting the report, the Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Abayomi Akinruntan recommended the confirmation of the appointment of the nominees whom he affirmed have been properly screened.

The Majority Leader of the House, Hon. Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi moved the motion for the report to be considered and the nominees to be confirmed and was seconded by Hon. Felix Afe representing Akoko North West II.

The Speaker, who ruled for the confirmation congratulated the Commissioners, urged them to put in their best and pledged the support of the House to the executive for the people to enjoy more democracy dividend.

On the sixth nominee, Isaac, who was not confirmed, Oladiji said: “She is unavoidably absent and she would be screened later”.

Responding on behalf of other commissioners-designate, Igbasan expressed appreciation to Aiyedatiwa for finding them worthy of the position pledging not to betray the confidence reposed in them.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Tinubu leaves Lagos on Tuesday to attend Ramaphosa’s inauguration

President Bola Tinubu will attend the inauguration of President Cyril Ramaphosa of South A…