Home Politics Election Supreme Court upholds elections of Nasarawa, Ogun, Delta governors

Supreme Court upholds elections of Nasarawa, Ogun, Delta governors

3 min read

The Supreme Court on Friday dismissed the appeal of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate, Hon. David Umbugadu against the election of Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State, who contested on the ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The apex court also upheld the election of Governors Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State and his Delta State counterpart, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori.

In the Nasarawa State matter, the lead judgement, Justice Kudirat Kekere-Ekun resolved all the issues identified for determination against the PDP and Ombugadu.

Justice Kekere-Ekun the proceeded to dismiss Ombugadu’s appeal.

For Ogun State, the Supreme Court dismissed the appeal filed by PDP candidate, Hon. Ladi Adebutu challenging the election of Abiodun of the APC.

Adebutu’s appeal contended that Abiodun’s election did not comply with the electoral laws and he did not score the lawful majority votes. He was therefore asking the court to void his victory.

But, in a unanimous decision, the apex court dismissed the appeal for lack of merit and affirmed Abiodun’s victory.

The Supreme Court also dismissed all three appeals to overturn Oborevwori’s election as governor of Delta State.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared PDP’s Oborevwori as the winner of the 18th March governorship election.

But unsatisfied, three parties headed to the court. While Oborevwori was victorious in the tribunal and at the appeal court, the parties pushed the matter to the Supreme Court.

When the case came up at the apex court, it upheld the earlier judgements and upheld Oborevwori’s victory. The court first dismissed the appeal of APC candidate, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege seeking to overturn Oborevwori’s election.

The apex court held that the appellant was unable to prove his case of over-voting and noncompliance with the electoral laws.

It also dismissed other appeals for lack of merit and affirmed Oborevwori’s election. The court awarded no costs while the judgement is unanimous.

The verdict was in agreement with that of the lower courts which held that the appellants were unable to prove the allegations of noncompliance contained in their petition.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In Election

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Student loan: MAPOLY Alumni commend Tinubu on launch, urges stakeholders to embrace it

The Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Abeokuta Muslim Alumni (MAPAMA) has commended President Bol…