Home News TheCable editor makes BudgIT award shortlist

TheCable editor makes BudgIT award shortlist

4 min read

An editor with TheCable, Taiwo Adebulu has been shortlisted for the maiden edition of the BudgIT Active Citizens Awards.

Adebulu, the Features Editor, was shortlisted in the “Solution Journalism Category”. He is contesting with Hauwa Shaffii Nuhu of Humangle Media; Johnstone Kpilaakaa, a freelance journalist; and Lisa Gwamkat Gwamzhi of Radio Nigeria.

BudgIT is a Nigerian civic organisation that applies technology for citizen engagement with institutional improvement to facilitate societal change.

The organisation announced on Tuesday that the award has 10 categories, with only five open for nominations.

It listed the five categories as the Oby Ezeskwesili award, the Community Service award, the Solution Journalism award, the Civic Activism award, and the Disability Advocacy/Empowerment award.

BudgIT said it received over 300 nominations, and that the awards ceremony is expected to hold at the Civic Centre, Lagos on 10 September.

Adebulu is not new to awards and recognition. In 2020, he won the PwC Media Excellence Awards.

He also won the overall prize at the African Fact-Checking Awards in 2020 for his investigative piece that exposed the falsehood of a claim by the Nigerian government at the United Nations General Assembly.

Adebulu was a finalist in the African Growth Story category of the 2020 Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism. In 2021, he was longlisted for the One World Media (OWM) journalism award and also got an honourable mention on the winning list of the 20th SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment.

He holds a Bachelor’s degree from Obafemi Awolowo University and a Master’s degree in Communication Arts from the University of Ibadan, and is also a Pulitzer Centre grantee.

Other notable youths shortlisted in other categories include:

The Community Service award

  •       Gabriel Obinna Andrew, Community Development Advocate
  •       Idris Bilyaminu Ndasadu’Lau, YAPD4Africa
  •       Solomon O. Ayodele, Boys Quarters Africa
  •       Tunde Onakoya, Chess In Slums

The Oby Ezekwesili award

  •       Adepeju Jaiyeoba, BrownButton Foundation
  •       Bisayo Busari Akinnadeju, ProjectOne
  •       Oladiwura Oladepo, Tech4Dev
  •       Dr Kemi Dasilva Ibru, WARIF

The Civic Activism award

  •       Nelson Jide Olanipekun, Citizen Gavel
  •       Hauwa Allahbura, PullUpNaija
  •       Omidiji Olamilekan Qayum, Ymonitor
  •       Muazu Alhaji Modu, Spotlight for Transparency and Accountability

The Disability Advocacy/Empowerment award

  •       Michael Thompson Showunmi, Raising Star Africa
  •       David Anyaele, Centre for Citizens with Disabilities
  •       Sola Owonikoko, Project Enable
  •       Mojisola Odeyinde, Disability Rights Advocacy Centre

Credit: TheCable

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

EFCC nabs 48 KWASU students, others for alleged cybercrime

Operatives of the Ilorin zonal command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EF…