Home Arts Entertainment Wale Olomu Awards: Okoroji, Akins, Orits Wiliki, others set for roundtable discussion

Wale Olomu Awards: Okoroji, Akins, Orits Wiliki, others set for roundtable discussion

4 min read

As the maiden edition of Wale Olomu Memorial Awards (WOMA) gathers momentum, the organisers have announced the august members of Roundtable aspect of the award ceremony.

According to the awards’ Steering Committee, the WOMA Roundtable will include industry giants including Chairman of the Collective Society of Nigeria, Chief Tony Okoroji; Chairman of Musical Copyright Society of Nigeria, Orits Wiliki; legendary musician, Mr. Olaolu Akintobi (also known as Laolu Akin); music label mogul and promoter, Otunba Kenny ‘Keke’ Ogungbe; and music label owner, Mr. Obi Asika.

Other discussants are multi-talented Afropop artiste, Paul ‘Play’ Dairo; velvety-voiced award-winning dancehall ace, Daddy Fresh; gospel music star and former music label executive, Kenny St Best (well known as KSB); United Kingdom-based music promoter and producer, Kayode Samuel; and former promotions manager at Premier Music, Dayo Olomu.

The theme of the roundtable is ‘Business of Music: Artistes vs Label Relations, Accountable Royalties and Other Matters’.

On the panel discussions, the steering committee chairman, ace broadcaster Tokunbo Ojekunle said: “The Roundtable panelists will feature on The Vintage Talkshow, anchored by veteran journalist, Femi Akintunde-Johnson (also known as FAJ) on Top Radio FM 90.9, aired every Saturday at 7 am. The discussions, alongside the award presentations will follow a dedicated schedule within the live two-hour radio programme between 9th and 23rd December, 2023. The three-part special episode is designed as follows: 9th December.: Okoroji, Ogungbe and Dairo; 16th December: Asika, Fresh, Samuel and KSB; and 23rd December: Akins, Wiliki and Olomu”.

Ojekunle added that some of the categories being considered for the Special Recognition Awards are: music producer, sound engineer, studio/artiste manager, music video editor, band manager, photographer, set designer, rhythm/bass guitarist, saxophonist, backup vocalist, percussionist, disc/video jockey, etc. He said that the list is exclusive of the few distinguished veterans nominated for the lifetime achievement awards.

He also revealed that the award would be different from what usually obtains in the Indus as it would be held inside a live radio studio and participation/attendance is through online (Google Meet, Zoom, Facebook and YouTube live feeds).

Ojekunle explained that award winners would be picked through a rigorous process to unearth and celebrate those who had contributed in discovering and nurturing Nigerian talents who would otherwise have been wasted;” and such people have largely been unappreciated or unrecognised – a position the committee believes is in tune with late Wale Olomu’s reportorial philosophy”.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In Entertainment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Contractor hands over 2nd Niger Bridge

The Federal Government has taken delivery of the Second Niger Bridge from the contractor, …