Home News Aliyu removes 15 district heads over land racketeering, other offences

Aliyu removes 15 district heads over land racketeering, other offences

3 min read

Sokoto State Governor, Ahmed Aliyu has dethroned 15 district heads over alleged insubordination, land racketeering, aiding insecurity and conversion of public properties.

The press secretary to the Governor Abubakar Bawa announced the dethronement on Tuesday in a statement.

The District Heads dethroned were those of Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tulluwa, lllela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu, and Giyawa district.

Others were those appointed by the former Governor Aminu Tambuwal at the tail end of his administration.

“They were dropped due to the nature of their appointment which according to the statement was haphazardly done and rejected by their subjects.

“They are Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gongono, Sarkin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Torankavwa”, added the statement.

The statement further said the cases involving the District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi have been recommended for further investigations.

Similarly, a senior counsellor in the Sultanate Council, Sarkin Yakin Binji was transferred to Bunkari while the District Head of Sabon Birni was deployed to Gatawa.

In a statement, Bawa noted that seven other District heads have been retained by the government.

They include Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar III Churoman Sokoto, Alhaji Ibrahim Dasuki Maccido Barayar Zaki, Abubakar Salame Sarkin Arewan Salame, and Aminu Bello Sarkin Yamman Balle.

Others are Mahmoud Yabo Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe, Mukhtari Tukur Ambarura Sarkin Gabas Ambarura and Malam Isa Rarah Sarkin Gabas of Rarah District.

The district heads of Tsaki and Asare were also retained, while Abdulkadir Mujeli who was appointed as Magajin Garin Sokoto was asked to go back to his former position as Sarkin Rafin Gumbi district.

According to the statement, all this was a result of recommendations of the Committee on the Review of appointments of Traditional Rulers, Renaming of Tertiary institutions and the Dissolution of Governing Councils of State Parastatals set up by the state government.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Tinubu leaves Lagos on Tuesday to attend Ramaphosa’s inauguration

President Bola Tinubu will attend the inauguration of President Cyril Ramaphosa of South A…