Home News Diri inaugurates blue economy, non-indigene ministries in Bayelsa

Diri inaugurates blue economy, non-indigene ministries in Bayelsa

3 min read

Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri, yesterday swore in additional 15 commissioners bringing the number of members of his cabinet to 29.

The governor also created two new ministries; Blue Economy and Special Duties (General Services) which is in charge of non-indigene affairs.

Fourteen commissioners had been sworn in the first batch on 29 April.

In a statement by the chief press secretary (CPS) to the governor, Daniel Alabrah, Governor Diri also re-assigned the commissioner for special duties (East), Preye Brodrick, to the Ministry of Transport, Mr Mandy Akpalo was assigned the Ministry of Special Duties (Central), while Chief Odoko Saturday Omiloli was assigned to Ministry of Labour, Employment and Productivity.

Also, Hon. Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai, who was earlier assigned the Labour, Employment and Productivity portfolio, is now the Commissioner for Information, Strategy and Orientation while Chief Saturday Omiloli is to oversee the Labour Ministry.

Hon. Alfred Belemote was assigned to the Ministry of Community Development, Chief Thompson Amule retained his portfolio as Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Mr Alla John is to man the Ministry of Tourism Development.

Prof. Seiyefa Brisibe takes charge of the Ministry of Health, Hon. Ebi Ben-Ololo (Environment), Hon. Alalibo West (Special Duties – East), Hon. Gibson Munalayefa (Communications, Science and Technology) Godspower Keku (Culture) and Chief Godspower Oporomo (Ijaw National Affairs).

Prof. Beke Sese was assigned to the Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources, Alfred Nimizigha (Youth Development), Dr. Faith Zibs (Blue Economy) and Mazi Onuma Johnson (Special Duties – General Services).

Governor Diri explained that the Blue Economy Ministry was created so the state could key into the federal government’s development of the country’s blue economy.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Gunmen attack police team in Aba, kill Inspector, 3 others

A police Inspector identified as Shehu Oyibo attached to the Rapid Response Squad, RRS, an…