Home Politics Sanwo-Olu leads 86-member APC campaign council for Osun governorship election

Sanwo-Olu leads 86-member APC campaign council for Osun governorship election

4 min read
access bank

Governors, N/Assembly leaders, Ministers included

 The All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted an 86-member National Campaign Council ahead of the 16th July governorship election in Osun State.

Lagos State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu is the council chairman, while his counterparts in Kano State, Dr Abdullahi and Niger State, Abubakar Sani Bello are respectively co-chairman and deputy chairman.

The committee, which will be inaugurated tomorrow at the APC national headquarters in Abuja, was announced in a statement signed by the National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu and the National Secretary, Senator Iyiola Omisore.

The primary mandate of the Sanwo-Olu-led council is to work for the victory of party and its candidate, Governor Gboyega Oyetola, who is seeking re-election.

The campaign council include serving and former governors, ministers, members of the National Assembly, political appointees and the party chieftains across the country.

Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Lawan; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila; Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Mohammed Bello and 18 governors are members.

The governors include the Chairman of Nigeria Governors’ Forum, who is also Governor of Ekiti State, Dr Kayode Fayemi; Chairman, Progressives Governors’ Forum and Kebbi State Governor, Senator Atiku Bagudu; Chairman, Southern Governors Forum and Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu; Chairman, Northern Governors Forum and Plateau State Governor, Rt. Hon. Simon Lalong. they will all serve as vice-chairmen of the council.

Other governors, who are vice chairmen of the campaign council, are Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Babagana Zulum (Borno), Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Aminu Masari (Kastina), Abdulrahmah Abdulrasaq (Kwara), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Hope Uzodinma (Imo), Bello Matawalle (Zamfara), Ben Ayade (Cross River) and Yahaya Bello (Kogi).

The Minister of Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola (SAN); his counterparts Abubakar Malami, SAN (Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation); Niyi Adebayo (Industry, Trade and Investment); Gbemisola Saraki (Minister of State, Transportation) and Timpreye Sylva (State for Petroleum) as well as Senior Special Assistant to Governor Sanwo-Olu on New Media, Mr Jubril Gawat are also part of the campaign council.

Mallam Aliyu Ahmed and Prince Tona Famodera are the Secretary and Assistant Secretary.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Contributor
Load More In Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Public morality: Nduka Obaigbena and his THISDAY/Arise News grandstanding

By Dele Alake and Bayo Onanuga It is laughably tragic that the Chairman and Editor-in-Chie…