Home News Tinubu swears in Ogun, Osun’s NPC commissioners

Tinubu swears in Ogun, Osun’s NPC commissioners

5 min read

President Bola Tinubu on Monday swore in two more commissioners-designate of the National Population Commission (NPC)

Mr Fasuwa Johnson and Dr Amid Tadese Raheem from Ogun and Osun states respectively took the oath of office at 12:15 pm at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, after their abridged citations were read.

Monday’s ceremony came three months after Tinubu, on 13 February, asked the Senate to confirm Raheem as a commissioner of the NPC.

The Senate also confirmed Johnson on 6 March.

On 8 November 2023, President Tinubu appointed 20 federal commissioners to the NPC, with nine of them reappointed for a second term in office.

He swore in 17 of the nominees into office on 14 March.

Johnson, born in 1973 in Ododeyo, in the Ijebu North-East area of Ogun State, holds a Master’s of Science in Geography and a Master in Business Administration from the University of Ibadan and Ladoke Akintola University, Ogbomoso, Oyo State, respectively.

He was elected as a member of Ogun State House of Assembly in 2019, representing Ijebu North East till June 2023, during which he was the chairman of the House Committee on Works and Infrastructure.

Raheem, born on 12 December 1964, in Iwo, Osun State, holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science from the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile- Ife and Master’s and Doctoral degrees in Public Administration from the same university.

He had served as commissioner for water resources and energy in Osun State and was elected member of the Osun State House of Assembly, becoming its first chief whip in 1992.

Until his nomination, Raheem was the Head of the Department of Public Administration at Fountain University, Osogbo, Osun State.

After the swearing-in ceremony, the council observed a minute of silence in honour of two deceased former cabinet members, Prof. Fabian Osuji and Prof. Ogbonnaya Onu.

Osuji, 82, who died on 28 February 2024, served as minister of education from July 2003 to March 2005 in the administration of former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Onu, the first civilian governor of Abia State (Jan. 1992 – Nov. 1993), served as minister of science, technology and innovation in the administration of former President Muhammadu Buhari. He died on 11 April 2024, at 72 years.

Afterwards, the Federal Executive Council moved into a closed session; its 11th meeting since its inauguration on 28 August 2023,

On 16 October 2023, the Information Minister, Mohammed Idris, said the council would meet only when it has memoranda to consider.

“The president has approved that the Federal Executive Council meeting will now be held on Mondays as against the traditional Wednesdays that we are used to.

“So FEC meetings have been moved to Mondays. Of course, that does not mean that it has to happen every week.

“If there are no issues to discuss, it will be skipped to the next week,” Idris had explained.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Police deploy officers as soldiers, traders clash in Abuja market

The Federal Capital Territory Police Command has deployed intelligence officers to Banex –…