Home News Education UNILORIN promotes 40 senior lecturers to professors

UNILORIN promotes 40 senior lecturers to professors

4 min read

The University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) has announced the promotion of 40 of its senior academics to the rank of professor.

The elevation, which was approved by the Minister of Education, Professor Tahir Mamman (SAN), was a sequel to the recommendations of the University Appointment and Promotion Committee.

A statement from the Office of the Registrar, UNILORIN, said the 40 distinguished scholars were found to have excelled in the realms of teaching, research and community service and were subsequently promoted to the highest rank obtainable in academia.

The breakdown of the beneficiaries showed that 11 of the new professors were produced by the Faculty of Agriculture.

On the list are Sidiqat A. Aderinoye-Abdulwahab, L. L. Adefalu, F. O. Takim, A. A. Badmos, Foluke E. Sola-Ojo, W. A. Jimoh, M. I. Abubakar, T. H. Aliyu, R. O. Uddin II, T. O. Amusa and Mutiat  A. Balogun.

From the Faculty of Arts are K. M. U. Gbodofu, Y. A. Abdullahi, Abosede R. O. Babatunde, Bolanle E. Arokoyo, and P. U. Nwosu, while the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences produced A. S. Alabi, who teaches at the Department of Anatomy.

Two lecturers from the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, T.O. Olanrewaju and O.A.M. Adesiyun, were also elevated to the rank of Professor.

The Faculty of Communication & Information Science produced Tinuke O. Oladele and Saudat S. Abdulbaqi as professors while O. O. Okoji, Folakemi O. Adeniyi-Egbeola and Florence O. Daramola were elevated at the Faculty of Education.

From the Faculty of Engineering and Technology were A. T. Ajiboye, A. Y. Abdulrahman, M. O. Sumonu, Rasheedat M. Mahamood and T. K.  Ajiboye.

The Faculty of Law produced one new professor in A. C. Onuora-Oguno.

The Faculty of Life Sciences produced four new professors, M. O. Nafiu, Faoziyat A. Sulaiman, Risikat Nike Ahmed, and I.O. Sule.

Those promoted from the Faculty of Management Sciences were M. A. Ajayi and Rihanat I. Abdulkadir while the Faculty of Physical Sciences also produced two new professors through Haleemat I. Adegoke and O. A. Abidoye.

The promotion of Monisola A. Tunde of the Department of Geography and Environmental Management as a professor was also confirmed, while the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine produced Z. Jaji from the Department of Veterinary Anatomy.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In Education

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Ogun APC faults Daniel’s cargo airport comment

The Ogun State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has faulted former governor …