Home News Nigeria to host maiden congress of World Organisation of Writers in Abuja

Nigeria to host maiden congress of World Organisation of Writers in Abuja

3 min read

The Pan-African Writers Association (PAWA), in partnership with the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), will host the maiden congress of the World Organisation of Writers (WOW) in Abuja, Nigeria.

The congress, scheduled to hold from 4th to 6th April 2024, will convene writers from across the globe in the city of Abuja, at the ANA Writers Village located in the hills of Mpape.

Formerly known as Afro, Euro-Asia Organisation, it was renamed WOW in 2023 following requests from writers who are not of Afro, European or Asian descent to join the group

WOW’s objectives which include the deployment of writers in the achievement of global peace and serves as a platform for writers to address international conflicts, center around its motto: We Are People of the Same Planet.

PAWA Secretary General, Hon. Wale Okediran said Nigeria got to host the event prior to his receiving the organization’s Most Outstanding Writer for the year 2023 award, despite not being a member.

“One of the benefits of winning the award is that the winner gets to host the organisation’s next meeting.
“We are collaborating with WOW to host its first-ever congress in Abuja, Nigeria. PAWA was given the mandate to host that congress. It was my decision to cede that hosting right to the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) Nigeria because having looked round the entire African countries, I didn’t see a country that has the kind of facilities that ANA has, and the number of writers that Nigeria has. That is why I thought it appropriate to site that conference in Nigeria”, Dr. Okediran said.

Okediran, a former House of Representatives member, prolific author and founder of the Ebedi Writers Residency in Ibadan, took over the leadership at PAWA in 2020, post the death of his predecessor Atukwei Okai, who was the association’s Secretary General for 28 years.

An umbrella organization for all African Writers Associations, PAWA initiated in 1989 by the former Organization of African Union (now African Union) as an organ that tends to African literature and culture, comprises the 52 national writers’ associations on the African continent. It has its headquarters in Ghana.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Breezynews
Load More In News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Serbia beat D’Tigress in pre-Olympic friendly

Nigeria’s senior women’s basketball team, the D’Tigress suffered a second consecutive warm…